I still can’t believe it’s real

I will be leaving for my study abroad trip on Sept 3rd. I’m finally going back to Japan after 8 years. The first time was only a 1 week guided tour, but I absolutely loved it and I didn’t want to leave when the week was over. So in less than a month I will begin my adventure of participating in the Year-in-Japan program at Konan University in Kobe, Japan. I am really excited (and nervous), but it doesn’t feel real yet. Probably when I’m finally on the plane it will feel different. I’m sure I’ll be a bundle of nerves and excitement the closer the 3rd gets.

I will be living with a Host Family, or more precisely, a Host Mother. M-san has 3 children, 2 sons and 1 daughter, but they’re all older and they live elsewhere. I’m very, very nervous about living with only M-san. She doesn’t speak or read English so that means I’m going to have to get good at speaking Japanese very quickly. I just hope that I don’t do something insanely stupid and offend her. ^^”

I’ve also been writing to 2 girls that are students at Konan University. They seem like very sweet people and I can’t wait to meet them. Ko-san was an exchange student in Australia so her English is really good. Ki-san works part-time in a crepe shop. :3 I’m really looking forward to trying the crepes from there.

There are so many things that I want to do while I’m in Japan. I just hope that I have the time and money to do all of them. I’m going to make the most of this trip and try to do everything that I possibly can. If I have to (aka if I’m able to), I plan on staying on after the program is over and do anything that I’ve missed. ^_^

I hope that this blog will be a useful way to let my friends and family keep up with me while I’m in Japan. I know I won’t have time to keep communication with everyone going so this will serve that purpose. I’ll also be able to post pictures so everyone can see what I’m up to. ^_^ I’m really not sure what else I should mention in this post. Please feel free to comment on my posts, I want to know what everyone thinks.

P.S. I really hope that M-san has a cat. >^_^< I’m going to miss my kitty.

(I’m not sure how people will feel about my mentioning their names on a public blog, so I’m going to use abbreviations for now.)

I still can’t believe it’s real

3 thoughts on “I still can’t believe it’s real

  1. I’m so happy for u and being ur best friend forever u know I’m going to miss u tons. U know ur mom and dad will too. U have managed to accomplish more than I could have ever imagined would happen in ur life. U r so determined and intelligent and just awesome 🙂
    I can’t wait to hear about ur adventure and all the cool stuff u get to c and learn. Good luck and soak in all u can, but just don’t move there cuz id never be able to visit and id really miss u. Love u always like my sister.

  2. Hi Kristi, Perhaps you can get a Hello Kitty to keep you company while you are there!
    I will make a bet that your M-san will speak English by the time you depart for the US.
    You have fun while you are there as this is an adventure of a lifetime.
    You must post photos!!!! Tell us about the weather,the monsoon, the street life, the ghettos, the Giesha, the Shinto Shrines, the old buildings, the new buildings, the Cherry Blossom time, the Doll shrines, the art, Kabuki theater and all the customs we never see here. Many hugs to you and best wishes. Suzan

Leave a Reply

