Placement: Matsue, Shimane Prefecture

On January 19th I finally received the telephone call that would tell me where I will be working in Japan. I will be living & working in the city of Matsue in Shimane prefecture. (Google Map here) I most likely won’t be in the main part of the city, but hopefully I won’t be too far. It would take about 3 1/2 hours to drive to Kobe and about 4 hours by train. (To Tokyo: 7 1/2 hours by train, 9 hours by car and 1 hour 15 minutes by plane.) Considering it’s going to take about 1 day for me to travel from the US to Japan, that’s not too bad.

I will be leaving the US on March 23rd and arriving in Japan on March 24th. Then I will meet an Interac representative on the 25th in Okayama. After that, I think there are 4-5 days of training there. Then it’s off to my new apartment in Matsue. I don’t know about my apartment yet, but I will have a place by myself. I am really looking forward to living by myself. It’s been a long time since I haven’t shared space with another person.

Another interesting part is that I will have a car while I’m living in Matsue. I guess I will be living far enough from the schools where I will be working that I won’t be able to rely on public transportation to get to work. Or I’m just that far from city center. I think it will definitely be a learning experience.

I received my International Driver’s License yesterday and I sent off my Visa application. I still need to pack and get rid of a few more odds & ends in my apartment. But I don’t really have too much longer before I’ll be headed to Japan. I’m really excited, nervous and scared. I know things will be fine, but it’s going to be a bit of an emotional roller coaster for a while.

I may try to post one more update before I leave, but don’t hold your breath. ^_^

Placement: Matsue, Shimane Prefecture

2 thoughts on “Placement: Matsue, Shimane Prefecture

Leave a Reply

